VIDEO: Embarrassed

So yeah… I’ve never felt embarrassed to breastfeed in public. I always figured my kid needed feeding so I was going to get the job done. That’s my job as Chick’s parent– you know, make sure he doesn’t starve.

However…

I have felt amused when a couple sitting next to me asked to be reseated when I was nursing my child.

I have felt angry when creepy frat boys tried to get a peak at my boob when I was nursing my child.

I have felt profoundly uncomfortable when a man sitting across from my table at a restaurant stared at me while I was nursing my child. (Just yesterday, my friends.)

Though there are parts of this video that I don’t entirely agree with (the formula thing, for example, can be more complicated than a 3 minute clip allows), I do appreciate the central question: In a culture that puts breast on every other billboard and splashes them indiscriminately on magazine covers at the super market check out… Can’t we just get over breastfeeding in public?

5 comments

  1. A. · August 15

    Really powerful. Thanks for sharing!

    • thecommonostrich · August 16

      Yup- even with the bits I didn’t fully agree with in there, I was just blown away at how well this captured some of my feelings.

  2. InfertileGirl · August 15

    Love this. As a fairly modest person, I was initially very nervous nursing in public but the longer I’ve nursed and the more comfortable baby and I got, I almost dare someone to say something to me. I don’t know if I’m just oblivious or if where I live is very accepting, but I’ve never been made to feel uncomfortable. I still do try and be discreet but I don’t use a cover, and if I have to be at a busy coffee shop, so be it. I didn’t think I was going to like/feel comfortable breast feeding (and I nearly did give up because it was so dang tricky to get the hang of) but it’s been one of the most empowering experiences I’ve ever had. And I never expected that.

    • thecommonostrich · August 16

      Maybe I just hang out around weirdos? Though I’ve never had someone say anything to me, I’ve had enough creepy creepersons around to know the nursing in public is still some how taboo.

      I also really enjoyed nursing, and I didn’t think I would. As Chick and I wean on down the road, I am about surprised by how much I will miss it.

  3. Molly · August 15

    Amen!

Leave a Reply

