Mini-post: Appointments

With Chick’s first year down and an egg in the freezer, Mr. O and I decided to start talking about the possibility of Chick Part Deux.  Of course, in order to do this, I need to talk with a medical professional. Having a baby is kinda a big deal for your body and I want to know how I’ve recovered, outstanding concerns, etc.

So I took the first step and called my OB-GYN’s office for an appointment.

The soonest available appointment at her office (with ANY available doctor) is September 22nd.

39215-grumpy-cat-no-Vyfj

 

 

12 comments

  1. Molly · July 21, 2016

    That’s ridiculous! I hate it when doctor’s offices let their patient load get so out of control that you can’t get appointments for months. It’s just not right.

    • thecommonostrich · July 22, 2016

      I know… I’m kinda gaming the system because I also just set up an annual physical with my primary care, who I need to see if I am to get a referral to my RE. That is happening in early August, and of course I won’t see my RE for about two months after that.

      It is a long and tangled web we weave when infertiles attempt to conceive…

  2. A. · July 21, 2016

    Wow, although I don’t know what’s worse: the 2 month wait for an appointment or the 2 hour wait at the office. My last OBGYN was insane that way.

    • thecommonostrich · July 22, 2016

      If it wouldn’t take up to three months to see someone as a new patient, I would think of looking elsewhere. Luckily, these folks are pretty prompt and professional once you get in the door.

  3. g2the4thpower · July 21, 2016

    Lol that’s pretty crap hey! We have public health care here, and I have to book my pap test over a YEAR in advance. Often, I end up having to rebook because of it falling on my period. Forget sick visits altogether! Pretty exciting that you 3 are looking at #4 now! I wish you all the best. Xx

    • thecommonostrich · July 22, 2016

      I’m starting to think I should have booked this a year in advance. Ah well… back to the demoralizing bureaucracy that is attempting to baby make.

      • g2the4thpower · July 22, 2016

        The good thing is… With a wee one in your life, 2 months will fly by.

  4. spiteorflight · July 21, 2016

    That’s insane. If it helps, my RE told me they prefer patients to wait 18 months or longer between delivery/next pregnancy to allow your body to totally recover.

    • thecommonostrich · July 22, 2016

      Excellent! By the time I actually get all the appointments I need lined up so that my insurance company will approve this crap… It will be 18 months. I’m right on (highly sarcastic) schedule!

  5. AdoptiveBlackMom · July 22, 2016

    Ugh, ugh, ugh.

    • thecommonostrich · July 22, 2016

      For. reals. My family has been mostly healthy this year, so I’ve blissfully forgotten the inane bureaucracy that is our health care system.

  6. lovingthemarriedlife · July 22, 2016

    Good luck on starting your this journey! Boo to your stupid dr. office being so over booked!!!

Leave a Reply

