The One Where I Spend Waaay Too Much on Baby Clothes

As I’ve mentioned before, when things in the Ostrich household are running smoothly, life with a 9 month old is totally doable. When things hit a bump, things get a little out of hand and someone usually ends up crying.

This was a full weekend. We had plans on Saturday night to see friends, including my former-potential mom friend (who I had a lot in common with than last time. Potential fire re-kindled.) Then we slide a visit with Mr. O’s cousin in the morning. All this was happening about 45 minutes south of our city, so we piled in the car at 11:00 am and didn’t get home until 11:00 pm. The next day we went to see friends who have just recently had twins.

I have posts about this, because it was a lot of baby time. And for the first time, I didn’t feel like a mama-impostor. But that isn’t what this post is about. That post requires a little more introspection that I have the bandwidth for at the ‘mo.

No, this post is about what happens when you have no clean laundry.

Typically, we set aside one day of the week to do our hausfrau-ing– Mr. O does laundry, sterilizes everything, gets Chick’s bag ready for the week. I do the grocery shopping, meal prep, and occasionally clean the bathroom. (I have mostly given up on cleaning the rest of our home, but the bathroom is non-negotiable.)

This weekend left no time for our usual chore deep-dive. So Monday morning rolls around, and I realize Chick has one clean outfit left. Sweet! I put it on, get him ready, and realize (just as we’re about to get out the door) that someone has unleashed a toxic mess in his diaper (Hint: It wasn’t Mr. O.)

So I take Chick over to his changing table, and in the process of disposing of said hazardous waste, Chick pees ALL OVER himself. Luckily (or lazily, depending on how you look at it) I hadn’t yet put his 3-6 month clothing away, so I crammed my 9 month old in clothing he has no business being in. Chick struggled and complained, all while looking like a stuffed sausage (admittedly an adorable stuffed sausage.)

My strategy with Chick’s clothing has been to buy as few pieces as possible. It is the cheapskate in me- why would I spend money to have tons of clothes around that he will at best wear once? I now have an answer to that question. Because when your kid pees all over himself when you’re already running late, you really do need a spare.

It does not help matters that he pretty much swims in anything but Carter’s and Hanna Andersson. Nope, no cheapo Target brands for this kid. (Aside: If you all know of any brands good for long and lean babies, feel free to share.)

giphy (4)

#dreamcometrue

All this means is I just put down some serious cash on clothes for Chick. And I feel bad. Yes, I said it. I feel bad about buying clothing for Chick, though I must admit that I feel this way buying anything. I rarely buy spur of the moment- I like to visit things in the store (or online) several times before I actually make a purchase. If possible, I would hoard money like Scrooge McDuck and swim around in it (after being properly sanitized, of course.) Then again, I really didn’t want to end up with a naked baby because Mama Ostrich is tightfisted.

Sure, I may have bought a few pairs of pants, extra onesies, and some pricey pjs. But what I really bought was a little more peace of mind. (Or that’s what I keep telling myself every time I do the mental math on his wardrobe.)

10 comments

  1. My Perfect Breakdown · April 5, 2016

    Oh my gosh, I have a long and lean baby too. Carters seems to be the only brand he can wear. I have not heard of Hanna Andersson, where do you buy them? Anyways, having a long and lean baby sucks because we’ve been given so many handmedowns from a friend but they are all for a chubby baby and just don’t fit our little baby. But, I do turn to the giant chubby baby outfits when we run into the laundry problem in our house because our baby only believes in poopsplosions.
    Anyways, I’m with you on the buying of clothing for myself and for anyone else in our house. I only buy brands that I know are durable, I’ll spend more money to get good quality. But, it takes me time and effort. I also happen to HATE shopping so I avoid it at almost all costs. Anyways, I refuse to buy new clothing for Baby MPB – I think I’ve bought him one new onesie because I just had to it was so freaking cute. I really just don’t see the point. So, we shop at a local second hand store that only sells baby/toddler clothing. But, they never seem to have Carter’s. It drives me mad.
    Okay, rant over. I hope you find some adorable items for Chick! And if you hear of any other good long and lean baby brands please do pass them on!

    • thecommonostrich · April 6, 2016

      Do not get started on Hanna Andersson. It is an expensive addiction. (Kidding aside: http://www.hannaandersson.com) We were gifted a few pjs, and once we knew how they fit him (i.e. perfectly) it is so hard not to buy them. Eh… who needs a college fund? 😉

      I’ve got a few things second hand, but I’ve learned that there are some things I need to buy new because the wear and tear that they take. Oddly, there aren’t any good local second hand places, so I’m stuck online (which is terrible) or buying through local parenting forums (which are hit or miss.)

      I’ll let you know if I come up with any good brands for our skinny babies!

  2. Molly · April 5, 2016

    The amount of money I have spent at Carters would FLOOR you. Seriously. My child has SO MANY CLOTHES. I have a serious baby clothes problem and so does my wife… the two of us combined are just awful. Charlotte is loooong and while not *super* skinny, she hovers in the 30th percentile for height vs weight. Her entire wardrobe is pretty much just Carters.

    • thecommonostrich · April 8, 2016

      When you find the brand that fits your kid, just run with it. I think I’m just getting tired of Carter’s actually. Once you eliminate the onesies that say “Stud Muffin” or “Mommy’s Wingman” I find my options quite limited. (This is my hangup- I refuse to dress my baby in things that weirdly sexualize him. He isn’t here to pick up chicks. He is A BABY.)

      • Molly · April 8, 2016

        I can’t stand the stuff with stupid phrases on it unless it’s cheeky somehow. Like I bought her pjs that say staying awake is my super power. Hah. The other good long-legged brand is Kicky Pants but they’re freaking expensive. They make Carters look like WalMart.

  3. spiteorflight · April 5, 2016

    I’ve got a stringbean baby here too, and we had a ton of Carters stuff when he was that age (now I stick with Oshkosh and Jumping Beans (kohls brand) because they have adjustable waistbands!) I got most of my stuff from the Walmart- and Target-specific Carters lines, which was maybe a little cheaper? Haha, I have no idea, I bought so much stuff.

    • thecommonostrich · April 8, 2016

      OOoo…. good call… Target Carter’s brand… Thanks for the tip!

  4. thebarrenlibrarian · April 6, 2016

    charlie is super long and lean. I think she was in the 76th percentile for height and 8th for weight at her last check. We wear a TON of carters. I just rock the sales and rack up points. The last time I shopped I had $20 in points to use.

    • thecommonostrich · April 8, 2016

      Yeah, I have $10 of rewards I “have” to use. 😉 As silly as it sounds, I’m getting tired of Carter’s. I tried H&M recently, and they are a little too big for him (though the length is dead on.) Ah well…

  5. Pingback: The Circle Game | the ostrich

Leave a Reply

