Mini-post: my baby hates me. Or at least my cooking.

I find a lot of joy in cooking. When Chick started on solids, I was looking forward to it in large part because I was excited to prepare his food. Ready, set, purée.

Things have been going well for the last two months. Then just last week, Chick went all diva on food. He’d take a few bites and be, at best, disinterested. I tried new foods, old foods, new combos, even a little baby led weaning.

Tonight, at my wits end, I pulled out the emergency prepared, store bought baby food.

He ate all 4 oz with gusto.

I’m trying not to take this personally.

8 comments

  1. My Perfect Breakdown · March 15, 2016

    Ah, the joys of a picky eater. I too am excited to make our kids food, which means one day he will probably hate it! 🙂

    • thecommonostrich · March 15, 2016

      This just in: He begrudgingly ate peaches and pears I made this morning. Perhaps there is hope.

  2. InfertileGirl · March 15, 2016

    Mine hates what I make (mostly) and the packaged stuff. Payback is coming my way, I was such a picky eater.

    • thecommonostrich · March 15, 2016

      Or you have a baby gourmand? This is me trying to find a silver lining.

      I was such a great eater. Still am, come to think of it. If I have a picky eater… things will get ugly fast.

      Pray for me.

  3. jen.g · March 15, 2016

    Mine are 9 months are in the last few days have decided not to eat the food I make them. They will have a few bites and some puffs. I’ve been told it’s ok and they will eat when they are hungry. Who knows! These little people change so much!

  4. thecommonostrich · March 15, 2016

    Who knows, exactly! I so wish I could creep into his tiny head and figure out what he’s thinking when he goes on a hunger strike.

  5. Molly · March 15, 2016

    Don’t you wish you could read his mind?

Leave a Reply

