Feel the Thrush?

Dear Hive Mind,

I have some seriously sore nipples.  It started Thursday night, and hasn’t gone away even with the addition of nip cream. It also hasn’t gotten worse. (Thankfully.)

Of course, I’ve convinced myself I have thrush, but Dr. Google isn’t being terribly helpful (shocking!)

The only symptom I have is the sore nipples. They aren’t red or freaking out in any other way. They feel fine when, ahem, not in use. The pain also subsides after about a minute of nursing or pumping. 

No pain anywhere else and no visible signs on Chick.

Is this thrush in the making or just some testy nipples?

*Yes, I realize none of you are my doctor. And yes, I will be seeking legit medical intervention. But it is Saturday night and googling nipple infections is now apparently what I do for kicks.

9 comments

  1. Tiggy B · February 28, 2016

    I’ve had maybe the same thing happen, usually after a few extra or rough feeds from Bubs. Lanolin nip cream (Lansinoh brand, maybe just a NZ thing?) got them back in working order pretty much overnight. Aren’t they supposed to get a whitish color if it is thrush? I think I heard that or read that somewhere…Hope it gets better whatever the cause!

    • thecommonostrich · March 1, 2016

      After a few extremely painful days of feeding, I think I just had a coupla extremely sore nips. It’s happen in the past– usually after something specific like a bad latch or fussy feeding– this was just a lot worse than that.

      Thank goodness for lanolin cream.

  2. g2the4thpower · February 28, 2016

    Is it possible there was a feeding session or pumping session where the latch was not great? I had that a couple weeks ago after baby & I had both fallen asleep while nursing but she didn’t let go, she just basically stretch sucked. After a couple days of making sure the latch was good, it went away. Good luck in figuring it out! Poor nips!

    • thecommonostrich · March 1, 2016

      It was definitely just sore nips, but I have NO IDEA how that happened. I think it must have been from pumping because they are were both equally pissed off at life.

      Nothing that a little lanolin and cursing didn’t ultimately fix. 😉

      • g2the4thpower · March 1, 2016

        It happens! I was surprised too by my sudden blocked ducts, but thankfully a bit more “care” usually helps. Cursing like a m-f, oh yes. Our poor breasts!

  3. pajamamommas · February 29, 2016

    Long-time lurker and (unfortunate) expert in thrush here. I’m wondering what kind of “sore” you’re experiencing. When I had thrush, the pain was really sharp. One lactation consultant I talked with described it as feeling like broken glass was in your nipple. If the pain is more sore than sharp, my guess is that it’s not thrush. Good luck figuring it out, whatever it is!

    • thecommonostrich · March 1, 2016

      No sharp pain, just really really (did I mention really?) sore. It seems to be clearing up, thankfully. I’ve had soreness in the past, and this just took the cake. Like, I cried. Chick has always been a great latch-er-on-er, so I have no idea what happened. Maybe a tussle with my breast pump? Whatever the reason, it is mercifully clearing up.

  4. Jenny F Scientist · February 29, 2016

    Thrush really does feel like broken glass. Nipples usually get very very pink. Don’t necessarily hurt when not in use, don’t get white, baby can have infection without white patches. I don’t know why your nipples are sore but it doesn’t sound like thrush yet (I have had SO DAMN MUCH thrush!). Hope your doc is good with BF troubles!

  5. mom number 2 · February 29, 2016

    Agreed – thrush is a sharp pain. Also, I had sort of an itchy uncomfortableness after nursing. Like athlete’s foot of the nipple. Gross, I know, but so is thrush.

Leave a Reply

