Mama Did it Better

The other day, my brother sent over a bunch of pictures from a trip my family took when I was three. These photos are all on slides (Remember those, boys and girls?) and as such have not been seen since that one time in 1984 when my dad rolled out the slide projector.

I don’t remember this trip at all. These photos did, however, serve two purposes.

1) Confirm that I was an adorable three year old. With the majority of the documented proof being on slides, this has often come up for debate.

2) Confirm that my mom looked amazing. When this picture was taken, my mom was 39 and the mother to three small children.

1234

I’m 37 with just one kid, and I look like an extra from The Walking Dead.

I wish I could call her and ask her what her secret was. Among so many other things.

 

5 comments

  1. My Perfect Breakdown · January 31, 2016

    There have been so many moments in my life where I wish I could call my mom, just pick up the phone and talk about anything and everything. Sending you love my friend.

    • thecommonostrich · February 2, 2016

      It never goes away, does it? And yet there is a part of me that doesn’t ever want it to. In a strange way, how much I miss her is a direct correlation to how much I love her (and still love her.)

      There are, however, some days that suck more than others. This day was one of them.

  2. Haisla · January 31, 2016

    She’s so beautiful in that photo. What a lovely gift from your brother.. It’s tough without a mum, my heart goes out to you.xx

    • thecommonostrich · February 2, 2016

      You know, I hadn’t exactly thought of it that way, but it is a lovely gift. It’s like pulling memories back from the brink of extinction… or in this case obsolete technology.

  3. bionicbrooklynite · February 17, 2016

    Your mother did it very, very well. One of the many things she did very well was raising you, which is how I know you will do it very well, too.

    Man, I miss her. I miss both of them, SO MUCH. I want to call my mom all the time.

Leave a Reply

