No In-Betweens

Here’s my realization on juggling parenting, working, and life-ing: When it works, it is awesome. When it doesn’t, it is a complete shit show. There are no in betweens.

On a good day– when Chick wakes up well, eats well, gets to daycare on time, and my day is only 50% meetings– I feel like this is all totally doable. Harried, but doable.

If one tiny thing is off– say Chick pees and pukes all over the place, requiring two changes of clothes before 8:15 am– the rest of my day is off kilter. It’s like a domino effect of crap.

So when something big is off– say my daycare saying the our Early Intervention coordinator is no longer allowed to come for her weekly visits with Chick– it is like napalm has been dropped into my otherwise happy little existence.

I’m not going to go into details because this is an evolving thing– in fact, denying access to the EI coordinator could actually be illegal. I seriously doubt that this will end up in court, but you know… just in case.

I will say that on Tuesday I was given less than 24 hours notice, and found myself scrambling to make sure Chick could keep meeting with his EI coordinator. He has been making great progress, hitting all the major milestones, and I like to think that is in part because of the extra care and attention he is receiving. So imagine my surprise panic when the director told me that they wouldn’t be accommodating EI visits anymore.

The rest of the week has just been miserable. The emails back and forth, trying to understand what is going on with daycare, balancing this with work, all day trainings, presentations that I literally made up IN THE MEETING 5 minutes before I was about to go on, a job interview… On one hand, I give myself props for not completely dropping any one ball.

On the other hand, I’m tired. TIRED.

giphy (2)

This may have been me this week. Maybe.

Then I got an email about sippy cups which sent me over the edge. As if it weren’t enough that I’m barely keeping up at work and daycare is being remarkably inflexible and vague, I’m apparently supposed to be introducing sippy cups to Chick now? WTF? How did I miss the parenting memo on SIPPY CUPS?! I AM THE WORST PARENT EVER!

After some sobbing (which may or may not have been in the shower at 6:15 in the morning while I was also trying to wash my hair and brush my teeth,) I got my shit together and realized I am not the worst parent ever. I’m just like every other parent– trying their damnedest to keep up.

9 comments

  1. g2the4thpower · January 22, 2016

    Oh jeez! That’s a whole lot of NO FUN! As for the sippy cup thing, is that because they don’t want them learning from actual cups (ie. Too high maintenance) or they are against bottles? Or… I’m just curious.

    • thecommonostrich · January 26, 2016

      I *think* it is about helping babies learn how to transition from bottle to cup. But what the hell do I know? All I know is that I am, according to some, missing the prime sippy cup window! My baby will be on the bottle until he is 40!

      • g2the4thpower · January 26, 2016

        Lol that’s ludicrous! My daughter drank from all 3, and in her daycare they taught them cups and utensils from very early on. One “fact” I’ve heard is that sippy cups with straws are better than the spouts for speech development, but again my daughter used both and has never exhibited any speech impediments or delays. I think it’s all BS, personally, but what do I know?! I DO know that cutting the bottle at 3 years old is HARD (dd1 still had nighttime bottles until then), so I hope to avoid that with dd2.

  2. AdoptiveBlackMom · January 23, 2016

    Listen, Hope isn’t in diapers, but I surely feel your pain. Hang in there and growl if necessary.

    • thecommonostrich · January 26, 2016

      Growling! Yes! I know people say that parenting doesn’t come with a handbook, but it sure does come with a lot of other people’s opinion. (Written the day I was sassed by daycare for introducing solids.)

  3. Haisla · January 24, 2016

    Oh-me-gosh, I would say you sound like flipping amazing parent!! Juggling it all whilst fighting battles so that your child can get the support he needs. You’re amazing and don’t let anyone tell you otherwise. I think the occasional cry in the shower is mandatory to get through the mad phase that is bringing up a baby as a working parent. Give yourself a pat in the back, you’re doing great.xx

  4. thecommonostrich · January 26, 2016

    Thanks! I think I needed to hear that. You do sort of wish someone would notice everything that you’re doing. Maybe they do, and maybe they just think this isn’t hard? Meh…

  5. bionicbrooklynite · January 27, 2016

    What the actual fuck, daycare? Isn’t dealing with the inconveniences of getting babies what they need…kind of what you DO??

    Screw sippy cups. You don’t need that fuss in your life. Babies do fine with an open cup, ideally a small one. More spills at the beginning, but fewer dishes and no needing to bring extra stuff to restaurants.

  6. mom number 2 · January 28, 2016

    My guy hates the sippy cup. The babysitter calls it his “spa treatment,” because all he does with it is try to sprinkle water all over his face after applying his oatmeal-prune mask every day at breakfast. Eff the sippy cup.

Leave a Reply

