6 Months FTW!

First, I’m sucking at blogging right now. Sorry it has been awhile. I have three posts I’ve been incrementally working on but never fully satisfied with. Someday, I may even publish them.

I’m sucking less at life, however, and this strikes me as more important. On the good news front:

  • Chick went to his 6 month check up and was a dream (More on that later.)
  • Grumpy Cat is using litter once more, after a lot of intervention. It’s a mess, but at least it is a mess in a box.
  • We finally agreed on who to make Chick’s guardian should tragedy strike– and said person accepted. Now we just need to make that final and legal and shit. 

So, yes… I’ve been busy. But now on to the stuff you’re actually interested in.

We took Chick to his 6 month checkup yesterday and by all accounts he is doing wonderfully. From the tiny peanut who arrived in July, he is now in the 64% for head circumference, 50% for height, and 26% for weight. This last one is a huge improvement– he was just at 10% at his last checkup in November. As his pediatrician flipped him on his belly, Chick struck the “perfect 6 month pose”, holding his head up with a big, drooly grin.

He had his vaccinations, which I’m no fan of. Scratch that- I’m fine with vaccinations, I’m just a complete wimp when my child gets them. I’m not sure who cries more. He was mostly okay with them this time around, except he had a huge, fussy, crying fit going to bed. The only thing that calmed him was a snuggle and some booby time. Then he passed out from sheer exhaustion.

Chick is an amazing little being. He is rolling over, standing (assisted, mind you) and just starting to sit up on his own. He is even learning to turn pages of books, proving that he is actually my child even if he doesn’t look like me one bit.

For the past few weeks, I’ve been reintroducing milk and soy to my diet to fantastic results. No bloody stool. No puking. So I’m mowing down chocolate and butter like it’s 1999.

I think we’ll start solids this week. I was getting all “To Baby Led Wean or not to Baby Led Wean,” when Chick’s pedi told me to calm down and do whatever I wanted. In her mind, now is about introducing flavors and textures. Don’t over think it. And so I’m not going to BLW. Long story, but since Chick tends to be a smidge delayed (thanks to his premie-ness) I’d rather feed him ourselves.

6 months is also a milestone for me. I’m still breastfeeding like a boss! What people don’t tell you is that breastfeeding is a huge ass commitment. I’ve calculated that it takes 2.5 hours out of my day every day (on the days he is at daycare.) Not to mention I have to make sure I’m eating and drinking enough, taking my prenatals, blah, blah, blah… When will the world realize that feeding a human being is a lot of motherf*cking work! So breaking it into 3 month increments felt less daunting. I’ve decided to re-up until he is 9 months, and see how I feel from there.

As every parent has said at one point, I can’t believe how quickly these months have passed. I’ve loved watching Chick learn, helping him grow, and seeing the world new through his eyes.

It’s some trippy shit, I tell ya…

3 comments

  1. InfertileGirl · January 7, 2016

    I agree with this all! 1) yay chick, and yay you! 2) I hear you on BF, takes so much time! I too do increments, in the beginning it was days then weeks, now we’re aiming for 6 months. 3) yay for dairy! You’re a champ, that would have killed me. May have been reason to not BF to me. Growing a human, FTW!

    • thecommonostrich · January 8, 2016

      I get a little testy when people say “Oh, breastfeeding is free.” When you factor in the time and energy, this milk just isn’t free. My day revolves around meetings and pumping, so that I average about 2.5 hours (at best) for actual work.

      That said, I really do love it. As much of a pain in the ass it can be, I’ll miss it when it’s over. This was a complete surprise to me– I never pictured myself as someone who would go gaga for breastfeeding.

      • InfertileGirl · January 8, 2016

        I think if I had to go back to work I would not have continued because pumping is definitely a huge time commitment. I’m Canadian so I have a year mat leave. But I hear ya, I actually really hated BFing in the beginning, mostly just because I had a hard time with it, but now that we’ve caught a groove it’s great. It sounds kinda cheesy, but I always feel so powerful and amazed that I’m growing my baby from just what my body produces.

Leave a Reply

