Symptom Spotting

Today I have my check up with my doctor to see if I’m cleared to rejoin society. Needless to say, I’m anxious. Not only is my baby extravaganza this weekend and I’d like to go to it, but I would really say good bye to this whole pre-term labor panic.  Just a few more weeks and I could get down to regular old “I’m going to have a baby” panic.

Of course, there is nothing better for an anxious mama than to lie around all day, alone with nothing but her thoughts. If it hadn’t been for this weekend’s pre-term labor scare, I would chalk most of this up to pregnancy just being weird. Instead, I sit here trying to read the tea leaves of my body. I’ve found guessing if you’re in labor is a lot like trying to guess if you’re pregnant. Ah, those heady TWW days… When indigestion is mistaken for implantation cramps, and hormonal fluctuations had more to do with PMS than anything else.

So far I’ve freaked out over back pain, abdominal pain, and contractions.

So far I seem to have back pain because I’ve been sitting in bed or on the couch for over a week, and contractions that appear to be Braxton Hicks.

The abdominal pain is the one that has me scratching my head. Once I determined it was just gas. Yes, a nice fart releases a lot of tension. I also wonder if this is just more round ligament pain– it feels a lot like pain I had earlier in my pregnancy when my belly was starting to grow. And I have a sneaking suspicion Chick had a growth spurt in the last few days- I can tell because my skin feels tight and my belly feels heavier.

Or I’m going into labor. Again.

This is maddening.

I head to my appointment in just 2 hours. There is no way I could have a baby in 2 hours, is there?

4 comments

  1. Nara · June 18, 2015

    Hate to mention it but one of my fb friends had the baby in an hour! Who even DOES that?!

    Hope you are doing well and that everything is happening nicely! It sounds very exciting! 🙂

  2. My Perfect Breakdown · June 18, 2015

    I hope your check up goes well!! I’m excited for your update. 🙂

  3. Dani · June 22, 2015

    “Just a few more weeks and I could get down to regular old “I’m going to have a baby” panic.”

    Hoping there will be less of this, if at all possible.

    Blessings to you and Chick,
    Dani

  4. Blayzer · June 23, 2015

    Hope all is ok! It’s been an eager 4 day wait to hear how you went.

Leave a Reply

