Bed Rest, Day Two

Maybe bed rest is like vacation… At first, it’s hard to settle in to this new pace. Then you just give in and start to enjoy yourself.

Okay, perhaps “enjoying this” is stretching things a bit too far. However, I will say that Day Two of Bed Rest Fest was easier than Day One.

The odd thing about being on BR (and being a complete nut job) is that you’re alone with your own body. I had nothing to do but pay attention to every little movement and twinge. As there have been no twinges, I’ve really only been focusing on Chick’s movement. Um… ladies and gents… Now that I am paying attention, I sorta love it.

I’ve had a hard time connecting with being pregnant. Part of it is that being present in my life has been a challenge, given all the emotional turmoil I’ve experienced over the last few months. Part of it, I now realize, is that I didn’t want to get too attached because what if something happened and I miscarried? So I’d just let Chick do Chick, and I’d do me.

Obviously, this is a hard separation to maintain when someone is literally growing in your body. Bed Rest, Day Two has just made me sink into being pregnant. I had a low point when I could feel Chick kicking and thought “Please don’t go anywhere yet. We’re just getting to know each other.” I cried a little because I realize now I’m not ready to be not pregnant. Not quite yet, anyway. I played sad sappy “Don’t Leave Me” music to Chick. We’ll see if emotional manipulation works in utero.

Bed Rest Fest 2015!

Bed Rest Fest 2015!

In happier news, I’ve been able to work from home. This is good to a degree– it gives me something to focus on besides whether or not my baby is about to fall out my whoooha. At the same time, it is also a little frustrating because I’m watching this big project of mine progress from afar. Back story: I was supposed to present it to the team this week and get the ball rolling on the actual work. In my absence, my boss is doing this. Very nice of him, don’t get me wrong. It’s just that I worked so flipping hard to get this project where it is, I wish I could be the one barking orders on the floor. As is, I feel one step behind all the time.

In other news, Mr. O is a saint. What he is fielding right now is pretty amazing. As I’m hanging out in bed with our cat and a laptop, he is arranging to buy a new-ish car. Through our mechanic, we’re getting a used one at auction (hopefully today!) and this has meant a lot of back and forth, comparing the cars available, wire transfers, and the rest. Love my husband though I do, he always gets anxious about making big decisions like this and he has had to do a lot of it on the fly and mostly on his own. Definitely outside his comfort zone, and I’ll say he is handling it pretty well.

So if all goes well, I’ll have a new car and no new baby by the end of the day. Fingers and legs crossed.

8 comments

  1. My Perfect Breakdown · June 12, 2015

    I love that you are sinking into the connection with Chick just a little bit more now that you really are able to spend your time connecting! I also love that your man is taking care of things! I hope your day goes perfectly and you get a new car and you keeping connecting with Chick in-utero!

    • thecommonostrich · June 13, 2015

      I’m not usually one to insist on silver linings, but having uninteruprted bonding time might be the best out come of this. That, and not having a pre-term baby. That would be EXCELLENT.

  2. Elizabeth · June 12, 2015

    Oh my God, I have missed so many updates from you! I’m so glad to read that you’re OK, albeit laid up. Glad you’re enjoying some quiet time with little ostrich while Mr. O does the caveman thing. 🙂

    • thecommonostrich · June 13, 2015

      You know, I think this is my body’s way of telling me to slow the fuck down. I’ve missed contact with actual humans, but sacrifices must be made.

  3. Nara · June 13, 2015

    Glad you’re okay! I think I could get used to bed rest, but then I’m a lazy so and so! Oh and I love the cushions… I used to have those! Keep hanging out for the chick kicks! 🙂

  4. thecommonostrich · June 13, 2015

    Ha! That’s what I thought. It is fun for a few hours, but then… not so much. What’s worse is that I keep looking around my place seeing all these things that I could be doing, but obviously can’t. I have never wanted to scrub my bathroom more in my life– or ever in my life, come to think of it.

    And I love those pillows. I’ve never been able to replace them, even though they are getting a little worse for wear.

  5. labmonkeyftw · June 15, 2015

    Hey Ostrich – I would like to make you onesies, if you thought that might be nice. However, it would require me knowing somewhere to send the onesies, so I would entirely understand if privacy trumped onesies. 🙂

    • thecommonostrich · June 17, 2015

      Ooooo, I’ve admired your handy work from afar! Email me at thecommonostrich[at]gmail[dot]com

Leave a Reply

