Bed Rest, Day One Recap

Yesterday was my first day of bed rest. And because I’m sitting around fairly bored, you will receive a mini report from me on each day. I’ll keep it brief. Honestly, this is mostly just to give me something to do.

Day One Observations:

Nope, not my mom. But this is how I imagined her  pregnant: happy and glamorous.

Nope, not my mom. But this is how I imagined her pregnant: happy and glamorous.

Bed rest is not glamorous. If you read my last post, you may remember that my mom was on bed rest for her pregnancies. My mom and dad were always very open about the difficulties they had with pregnancy and childbirth, so I knew my mom was on bed rest ever since I was little. I always had a vision of what this looked like.

Picture it. Manhattan, 1969. My mother is young, glowing, and excited about her pregnancy. She and my dad lost their first to miscarriage, and are worried they may not be able to carry a child to term. When the doctor suggests my mom goes on bed rest, she immediately goes home and camps out in her fashionable apartment with a view of the 59th Street bridge. Several weeks and stacks of books later, my sister is born.

This is what my bed rest looks like.

Meet my new best friends.

Meet my new best friends.

Picture it. My Fair City, 2015. I am an older, tired, slightly anxious first-time pregnant lady. Though no miscarriages (thankfully), I have over two years of infertility to make me sufficiently jumpy. When the doctor suggests I go on bed rest, I get a steroid shot in the ass, and immediately go home and lay in bed feeling sorry for myself. I roll around watching The West Wing, feeling more and more stiff from the 3 total positions I feel comfortable with. Every time Chick moves, I’m grateful but also worried that with each shift, he/she may be putting pressure on my wee cervix. When I can’t sleep, I decide that Google will clearly help me get through this. I am wrong, and can’t sleep for the next two hours. I eventually make the prudent decision to put down my phone, and pick up a copy of Orlando. I fall into a fairly restless sleep, and wake up with a headache.

Of course, the picture of my mom’s bed rest is pretty much fiction. Oh, she lived in Manhattan in a fancy apartment with a doorman. It was like something out of Mad Men. But the fiction, I now see, is that bed rest is easy. Even in more cushy surroundings, you can’t turn off the voice in your own head that makes you nervous with every twinge or change. It seems nervous mothers are timeless, from 1969 to 2015.

12 comments

  1. Awaiting Autumn · June 11, 2015

    I think Netflix would make bed rest these days easier to handle. Hang in there Momma!

    • thecommonostrich · June 12, 2015

      Yes, it does take the edge off! The trick has been to find something that I want to watch that Mr. O doesn’t. Thankfully, he doesn’t like nerdy, period dramas or mysteries, so I’ve been getting my Agatha Christie on LIKE A BOSS.

  2. InfertileGirl · June 11, 2015

    Blech, I’m sorry about the crap hand you’ve been (or keep being) dealt. I hope your cervix cooperates and just chills the fuck out for a little while longer so you can get on with life until Chick is ready to make his/her debut!

    • thecommonostrich · June 12, 2015

      When it rains, it monsoons? Is that a phrase? None of this is helped by the fact that I still have this head cold. Sweet baby jesus, what I would give to breathe through my nose again…

      In my googling (which was terrible) I basically realized that this is a factor for pre-term labor, but not the only/definitive one. I’m still hoping to let this kid cook a little longer. Fingers/legs crossed.

  3. labmonkeyftw · June 11, 2015

    Oh the West Wing is a perfect choice! Not going to help you feel better, but definitely going to while away the time!

    • thecommonostrich · June 12, 2015

      It’s so easy to immerse yourself in. Maybe it’s just the repetition, but I’m also starting to develop a crush on Martin Sheen.

      • labmonkeyftw · June 12, 2015

        Oh no, he is downright dreamy for a short short man. It’s the power. And the brain.

  4. Jenny f Scientist · June 12, 2015

    Okay, I do have one more suggestion: do you know about Acorn TV?

    • thecommonostrich · June 12, 2015

      Hmmm… What is this Acorn TV of which you speak?

      • Jenny f Scientist · June 13, 2015

        Online! Like Netflix but all British! I think it’s like $5 a month. Check it out- I think it might be nothing BUT things you’d watch and Mr. o wouldn’t.

  5. hopingforatakehome · June 12, 2015

    Ugh, sorry about the bed rest. For passing the time, Orange is the New Black season 3 comes out on Netflix tomorrow.

  6. thecommonostrich · June 12, 2015

    Woohoo! Thanks for the reminder! I’ve never felt so virtuous in my binge watching, and this gives me the perfect excuse.

Leave a Reply

