Baby Celebration Guest List

a) I’m having a baby shower. Only I refuse to call it a baby shower because the idea of one gives me hives. Instead, I have insisted on having it co-ed and at a brewery to distance myself from the whole shower concept. If possible, I would probably have it in a parking lot of a 7-Eleven, but even I’m aware some societal norms must be observed. I’m clearly in denial, so henceforth it will be called a “Baby Celebration.”

b) There are currently 78 likely attendees. 78?! I don’t even like that many people!

How the hell did this happen? Just a few months ago, I seriously entertained the idea of never telling anyone I was pregnant until Chick turned 18. And now I’m having a non-shower for 78 people.

Pardon me as I go into hiding…

12 comments

  1. My Perfect Breakdown · May 25, 2015

    I hope as much as the event scares you right now that on the day of you are able to enjoy the love of your family and friends! It sure sounds like there are a lot of people excited about Chick’s arrival! The only way I will have one is if it’s co-ed, so I love that you are doing it that way too!

    • thecommonostrich · May 26, 2015

      Look at you, all glass half full. Yes, it is true that this means a lot of people are excited for me, Mr. O, and Chick. I keep thinking that if I reframe it as a party that just happens to be about starting a family (rather than a “baby shower”) I’ll dread it less.

  2. Jenny F. Scientist, PhD · May 25, 2015

    Clearly they all like you. And possibly the BEER ensured all the people will come. Strategic error or brilliance? Only you can decide.

    • thecommonostrich · May 26, 2015

      So I should have had it in the parking lot at a 7-Eleven?! Damnit, that was my first instinct. Okay, second instinct after going into hiding.

  3. Tracy · May 25, 2015

    Good luck at your Baby Celebration. 😀 I like that idea better than a baby shower.

    • thecommonostrich · May 26, 2015

      I’ve always chaffed at these sorts of things– bridal showers, weddings, baby showers. If I had been marrying myself, I would have eloped to Vegas. However, I do like a good party. The baby part is just incidental. 😉

  4. Awaiting Autumn · May 25, 2015

    I think the booze was the draw. 🙂 I’ve always said showers would be more interesting if you could drink

    • thecommonostrich · May 26, 2015

      I’m starting to realize this was my fatal error. Ah well… the deed is done.

  5. InfertileGirl · May 26, 2015

    That prospect does sound a little frightening but also, look at how many people love you (and want beer)! I really want a co-Ed casual “celebration” but I’m not sure it’s going to happen… Enjoy!

    • thecommonostrich · May 26, 2015

      I was only going to do this if it was co-ed. Strangely, a lot of people still think that’s weird. I’ve had a few friends who’s mothers freaked at the idea of mixing up the ladies and gents. Go figure…

  6. Molly · May 26, 2015

    I think brewery baby showers should be the new standard. Seriously. I would never again complain about having to sit through one of these awful things.

    • thecommonostrich · May 26, 2015

      ME NEITHER. I figured I have one chance to do this the only way I would attend a baby shower– i.e. with booze. Ironically, I can’t drink at it but hopefully someone else will pick up the mantel.

Leave a Reply

