LISTICLE: 12 Women with Perfect Responses for Why They Don’t Have Kids

For a long time, I was ambivalent about having children. There are a lot of reasons for this that I won’t bore you with. The great irony, of course, is that once I knew I wanted kids, having them proved really difficult.

Through out both phases of my life– Meh on kids and Yay on kids– I was always baffled by how many people asked me outright if I wanted children. At parties, at the copier in the office… It pissed me off, and I always had such a hard time finding a graceful but firm way to tell people that this was none of their business.

Once I started down that craptastic journey of infertility, these questions weren’t just annoying– they were hurtful. Some people don’t have kids because they can’t have kids. Others don’t want them. Neither position is really anyone’s business.

Which is why I love this list of famous women sans children calling out this shit head on.

Well done, ladies. Well done.

12 Women with Perfect Responses for Why They Don’t Have Kids

6 comments

  1. My Perfect Breakdown · March 25, 2015

    I loved this, thanks for sharing! 🙂

  2. g2the4thpower · March 25, 2015

    Great share! I recently had heart to hearts with my two new colleagues in my new company (that recently bought our company). One is approaching or is maybe already over 60, and the other is around 52 I believe. Neither has kids but I knew better than to approach the subject. Both of them, on separate occasions, asked if I wanted a second child and when I confessed that we’ve been trying via IUI & IVF for close to two years now… They each shared with me that they were never able to have children despite many years of attempts. It was interesting to hear their stories and to finally feel comfortable and safe telling mine (the rest of my team are men).

    • thecommonostrich · March 26, 2015

      I totally hear this. Now that I’m pregnant, I’m able to have genuine conversations with people about my difficulties. Turns out I know so many more men and women who have struggled, but haven’t felt comfortable talking about it. I think that’s because we put a lot of shame and judgement on people. Sometimes this is a choice, sometimes it isn’t. Neither situation makes anyone less valuable as a person.

  3. positivelypeachie · March 26, 2015

    I love this article too! Thanks for sharing!! I love Jennifer Annistons response – that’s so true. I don’t have kids because we’re having trouble but it doesn’t mean I’m not mothering my pets, my nephews, my friends kids. Society definitely has this opinion that having children makes women a whole person and I think it’s good to raise awareness that for some women – that’s just not true.

    • thecommonostrich · March 26, 2015

      Yes. All day long. There is this idea that if you don’t have children, you aren’t a “real” woman either. Regardless of whether or not you do have kids, you can still be a worthy, loving person.

Leave a Reply

