Quizás, Quizás, Quizás

We’re getting close, my friends! I went in this morning for ultrasound and bloodwork, and I have at least 9 follicles ranging from 10 to 16 mm. According to Dr. Petrel, I could be triggering tomorrow or Wednesday.

Which would be welcome because I’m officially getting crabby about all this. I’m tired of the headaches. I’m tired of the sleepiness. I’m feeling swollen and tender, which seems weird to me when you think about how damn tiny these are. How is it that possible?! And yet, I feel like I’ve got a litter setting up camp in there. Ouch.

I’m also getting reeeeaallly tired of the injections. After a week, I’m starting to bruise. I thought they’d get easier over time, but in truth I only find myself getting more anxious every night.I know which ones hurt and which ones don’t. I’ve found that putting on mindless TV helps distract me from the chemistry project that has become my living room. So while Mr. O mixes me a cocktail of infertility drugs, I watch Coupling, a British sitcom from the early 2000’s. I have no idea why- it was what was most readily available on Netflix when I first tested my diversionary tactic theory.

The intro song for Coupling is “Perhaps, Perhaps, Perhaps” which I’ve long had a personal affinity for. It was the song my grandfather used to serenade my grandmother with when they were courting. And now decades later, I feel like I’m using this same song to court my own ovaries.

If you can’t make your mind up

We’ll never get started

And I don’t wanna wind up

Being parted, broken-hearted


So let’s get this show on the road, lady bits!

14 comments

  1. bionicbrooklynite · November 17, 2014

    Steady on, there.

    I found the good thing about how sore my ovaries were at about this stage was that I was less nervous about ER. By the night before, I was about ready to take the suckers out myself with a grapefruit spoon.

    • thecommonostrich · November 18, 2014

      I became a lot less terrified about the retrieval after the hysteroscopy. Yes, I realize these are two entirely different procedures. I have stopped applying logic to my thought processes months ago.

      • bionicbrooklynite · November 19, 2014

        That makes sense to me — so much of what was anxiety-provoking about ER is the same as hysteroscopy. I just did them in the other order and managed to be utterly freaked about both. Less so by the hysteroscopy, because it was second and because I REALLY needed a nap.

  2. My Perfect Breakdown · November 17, 2014

    Wednesday is right around the corner – hopefully the wait isn’t too horrible!
    Oh, and I too like the intro song to coupling! 🙂

    • thecommonostrich · November 18, 2014

      I feel like a little kid jumping up and down because they have to pee. That same clammy anxiousness.

      • My Perfect Breakdown · November 19, 2014

        I’m thinking about you today and hoping for a good update!

  3. Haisla · November 18, 2014

    Yay, you’re so close now!!! Just hang in there. Those nasty needles don’t sound fun, but soon that part too will be over, unless they’re putting you on PIO..? Good luck!! Rooting for you.xx

  4. lucy50 · November 18, 2014

    Good luck! Come on ovaries! Whoo hoo!

    • thecommonostrich · November 18, 2014

      Thanks! I want these suckers out ASAP– and that isn’t just my usual impatience talking.

  5. Haisla · November 18, 2014

    Yay!!! You’re getting so close to D-day!!! Wishing you as few days of injection related suffering as possible and that your trigger and retrieval go well. Come on little ostrich litter, you can do this!!x

    • thecommonostrich · November 18, 2014

      Aw… I just had an image of a litter of ostriches. And they are adorable.

      My follicles aren’t probably nearly as cute, but I don’t care as long as they get out of me ASAP.

  6. Stefanie @ My Crazy Beautiful Life · November 18, 2014

    In the end, it will all be worth it, hang in there!

    • thecommonostrich · November 18, 2014

      Yes. Must focus on the end goal. I keep reminding myself that a few days of injections really isn’t that bad in the long run.

      In the short run, however…

      • Stefanie @ My Crazy Beautiful Life · November 18, 2014

        Yes, very true, but you’ll get through this, you will. And you’ll look back and think it wasn’t all that bad 🙂

Leave a Reply

