Article: Do Mothers Need Time Away from Social Media?

When I’m not obsessing over the state of my empty uterus, I have a real job. And that job is in marketing. (Don’t judge.)

As part of my job, I need to stay up to date on shifts in communication, media, and the like. I truly enjoy this aspect of my job, because humans are crafty when it comes to how we create and consume information.

Which is why I found this article about how mothers interact with social media interesting. In summary, social media is causing some stress for the ladies with little ones. Some interesting facts:

Half of US mother social media users surveyed—those ages 18 to 64 with at least one child under 18 in the household—said they felt pressure to create an image that their lives were perfect on social networks.

All of this stress … had led the majority (53%) of mother social media users to actually consider stopping use of or taking a break from social media.

Now, I’m no mama (yet, damn it) but I totally feel this. I’ve virtually cut out Facebook because I was getting overwhelmed by all the “fabulousness” in my feed. Not that I want to begrudge my friends their happy lives… mostly I don’t believe it. Come on now… we all have good moments, but we also have crappy ones too. There isn’t any place on social media for authenticity– you can’t admit that things aren’t great all the time, or people will start referring you to a suicide prevention hotline.

If you’re interested in the nitty gritty, here is the post: Do Mothers Need Some Time Away from Social Media

2 comments

  1. mamajo23 · October 23, 2014

    I think about this often because I have a good friend who is a VERY popular healthy living blogger with a new baby. Her posts are cheery and cute even through she is struggling with post partum and seems overwhelmed and depressed. It is crazy to see such a different life portrayed. For young new Moms I can imagine they feel like failures seeing everyone around them seemingly so happy and perfect.

    • thecommonostrich · October 23, 2014

      It’s a problem I think a lot of people face, but I can see that this might hit new mothers in a particular way. There’s the expectation that being a mom is supposed to be just amazing all the time, and the truth is that it isn’t. Nothing in life is pure joy (with the exception of chocolate.)

      I’m sorry to hear that your friend is going through that. It must be even harder when you’re a public person in that way, trying to balance what you’re going through with what your readership expects to hear.

Leave a Reply

