Quelle Surprise!

CD1.  You know how I know? I got my period.

I did not, however, get any of the usual accompanying PMS drama. Okay, some sore boobs, but that was it. I was genuinely surprised when I got my period this morning because my body usually makes much ado about the situation. Nausea, acne, crying, tons of painful cramping… this month, I literally did not feel this coming. It is also a few days early, which I’m a wee bit happy about. I’m that much closer to my next cycle when I start IVF.

Is this what it is like to be a normal person? To function like an actual human for the last 1.5 weeks of my cycle?! Sweet mystery of life, at last I’ve found you!

Ridiculousness aside, is it possible that my polyps were the culprits of my PMS? Is that crazy? Seriously, any ladies out there who had polyps– did you notice any difference in your period post op?

2 comments

  1. Haisla · October 12, 2014

    I have no experience of polyps, but no PMS sounds pretty amazing. I suffer from hideous PMS symptoms (in fact I reckon there’s a blog post brewing in me on the very subject matter). But ‘yay’ for a PMS-free cycle!!! And ‘double-yay’ for being one step closer to an IVF cycle!!! (Sorry, that this comment didn’t really answer your question.. just thought I’d come along and say ‘yay’!)xx

    • thecommonostrich · October 14, 2014

      I had forgotten what this was like, honestly. (I didn’t start having bad PMS until about a year and a half ago.)

      I’m trying to temper my excitement into something that simultaneously hopeful and reasonable. Perhaps it goes without saying, but that is EXTREMELY difficult.

Leave a Reply

