Stress Much?

My blood tests are back.  And they are GOOOOD!

All my various levels are within the realm of acceptable… With the exception of my monocyte levels.

What the hell are monocyte levels, you ask? According to Dr. Google, monocytes are a type of white blood cell that support our immune systems. If it is high, my body is fighting some shit, yes? Only I don’t have an infection or cold or anything. (That I am aware of. The Human Body is a great mystery, aka Lesson #1 of IF.)

Some of you may recall that my sister was recently diagnosed with two autoimmune diseases. Only, I had an ANA screen done a few weeks ago, and everything came back fine.  Still, what if my body is actually fighting itself?

Cue the freak-out death spiral.

I emailed my sister to ask if there were any additional tests I should ask for. It took a while for her doctors to reach her diagnosis, so I wanted to know if there was anything that I should just skip to now.

Lovely girl that she is, my sister told me to slow my roll. Did I mention that she is a psychiatrist? Not only does she have general medical knowledge, she can spot a brewing anxiety fest when she sees one. Every one should have one of these in the family.

Unless my monocyte levels are high for a prolonged period of time, this isn’t a big deal. But more specifically, she posited that I may be suffering from a depressed immune system because of stress. Turns out this is a real thing.

Harken back to the Great Clomid Experiment when I asked if Clomid can suppress your immune system, because I had had two colds over the course of two months. In the middle of summer. Totally weird for me.

Also, I’ve noticed that I have a harder time healing in general. I get exhausted so easily. It just seems like my body isn’t bouncing back as well.

But as my sister pointed out, I’m dealing with all the fallout from my mom’s medical issues, my dad being a complete wreck, and then my own infertility… That’s one big stress extravaganza!

Is it weird to say that I’m surprised? I honestly thought I was handling all this pretty well. I mean, I manage to be a functioning member of society. I still go to work every day. I exercise. I eat balanced meals. I organize my recycling into paper, plastic, and glass.

At this point, I’m not sure what else I can do to limit my stress. (OOooOO, I know, I know! Get pregnant! Only I’m not so foolish as to believe that won’t result in a whole other level of stress.)

Do I actually need to become a Tibetan monk? They seems so chill.

Moving on… With my test results back, we’re just waiting on Mr. O’s genetic tests. That’ll take longer to get, I suppose.

Patience is a Virtue, aka Lesson #2 of IF.

7 comments

  1. My Perfect Breakdown · August 11, 2014

    Oh, the joys of life, infertility and stress. Wishing you well as you try to work through all of this and work to de-stress. If you find the magical answer, let me know, as its also my mission to de-stress.
    And, I hope you don’t turn to becoming a Tibetan Monk to solver your IF issues. Not that I’m opposed to the religion (actually I think its kinda cool), but they are celibate, so the whole baby making thing would pretty much have to stop if you joined. 🙂

  2. lucy50 · August 12, 2014

    I have had more colds in the last two years dealing with IF than I’ve had in the last five. Crazy.

    • thecommonostrich · August 12, 2014

      Crazy. Yes. I didn’t have a cold for 3 years before all this started. I’m not kidding- 3 years!

      File under: All the ways IF screws with you.

  3. julieann081 · August 12, 2014

    I think I need to join you and become a monk. 🙂 Sending hugs your way!

    • thecommonostrich · August 12, 2014

      Right? They just look so happy. Whereas I look like a hot mess most of the time. 😉

  4. conceptionallychallenged · August 12, 2014

    I’m glad most of the tests came back fine!
    And maybe you can take a leaf out of the monks’ book and try meditation? (It really works for me)

Leave a Reply

