The Incredible Hulk of Hormones

(Warning: There is a little over-sharing here about bodily functions. Enter at your own risk.)

So far, my body has failed to host a fertilized egg.

There is, however, a pimple on my forehead that I am sure is well into its first trimester.

This is just one of the many thrilling and disgusting turns my body has taken over the last few months. Hormone fluctuations are a bitch.

I honestly don’t remember my cycles being such a rollercoaster of ick before. Yes, I was on the pill for 10+ years, but even before then… it was never this bad. Ever.

My skin was the first thing to go on this baby-making adventure. My forehead turns into an oil slick about a week before my period. I will get zits in my hair. I also have bacne now. WTF?! I thought I left all this crap behind when I got my braces off.

I’m also experience extreme exhaustion. This is how I know I’ve ovulated. Cramps, cramps, followed by an irresistible urge to nap. I have literally put my head down on my desk in the middle of a conversation at work. This has also started up while I’m on my period. I’m completely wiped out the first two days. Last week, I came home on Thursday (CD1) and slept on the couch for an hour in my work clothes.

Then there is the irrational rage. Oh yes… let us not forget about that. It doesn’t happen every month, but there are definitely times when I feel myself getting down right irate about something really minor. Like an email in my inbox. Not the contents of the email, mind you. Just the fact that there was an email in my inbox. I was ENRAGED, but I could rationally see I was acting ridiculous. But still… ENRAGED.

Oooo! Did I mention the bloating? Yet another symptom of my impending menstruation. I get so bloated around the middle that I cannot wear pants. No, really. My pants do not fit me, so I have to wear amorphous dresses or anything with an elastic waist band.

My OG PCP (who sucked, but that’s another story) kept telling me that this is “good.” It means that my body is doing what it is supposed to do, prepping for fertilization + implantation. That might be true, but holy bejeezus… It’s hard enough to feel human through all of this, without the added complication of turning into the Incredible Hulk of Hormones. (You don’t want to see me ANGRY!)

Now here’s a real question for ladies in the crowd who’ve done the Clomid… I’ve had fairly few symptoms (Woohoo!) But since I’ve increased dosage last month, I’ve gotten sick on the 3rd day of taking the medication. Nothing serious… just a sore throat, stuffy nose, and general malaise.

I could also have really bad luck– this would not surprise me in the slightest. Just curious if anyone has heard anything about weakening your immune system while on these drugs.

 

11 comments

  1. thebarrenlibrarian · June 27, 2014

    I haven’t heard anything about that, but Clomid is the devil in my opinion so I wouldn’t put it past it to be slowly killing us all from the inside…

    • thecommonostrich · June 30, 2014

      I’ve had NO other weirdness on Clomid, actually. Which is why I’m convinced that this must be a side effect– even if I have to make it up entirely.

  2. Jessica · June 27, 2014

    I’ve had no symptoms the three months I’ve taken it but I take it at night.
    I did notice the first two months I had a crazy sex drive, though.

    • thecommonostrich · June 30, 2014

      Interesting… I take it in the mornings, around 10. No problems at all. That’s why I’m convinced this must be one. 😉

  3. labmonkeyftw · June 27, 2014

    I didn’t get sick, just the irrational anxiety/anger you’ve got going on. I know your immune system is weaker right before ovulation and right before your period, so while day 3 of clomid is too early for that to be a factor, maybe the hormone swing it causes mimics ovulation enough to depress your immune system? That or you are unlucky, and when faced with the choice, I say blame clomid.

    • labmonkeyftw · June 27, 2014

      that or it’s the cold you caught right before your period, when your immune system was depressed. Colds have an incubation period of 4-5 days, so it’d be about right.

      • thecommonostrich · June 30, 2014

        That makes so much sense. Look at you, being all smart… thanks for making that connection for me!

  4. Elisha · June 27, 2014

    Your symptoms of acne, bacne, bloating, tired, and everything else sound just like mine. My doc says it is related to my diagnosis of pcos. When I changed my diet it helped but giving up French fries,pizza, cheeseburgers, and chocolate was not my cup of tea 😉

    • thecommonostrich · July 1, 2014

      Good idea- I’ll try cutting out some of those guilty pleasures. Except chocolate. 😉

  5. julieann081 · June 29, 2014

    I haven’t had Clomid yet, but I can relate to almost all of your symptoms!

    • thecommonostrich · June 30, 2014

      I sometimes think this IF stuff wouldn’t be so bad if I didn’t turn into a monster during my cycle. (Who am I kidding? Yes, yes it would be this bad. I’d just have a nicer complexion.)

Leave a Reply

